NAIS is published twice a year by the University of Minnesota Press, and has as its mandate a focus on publishing the best interdisciplinary scholarship in international Native American and Indigenous Studies. It draws on the extraordinary professional expertise of our ever-expanding membership, and provides an intellectually rigorous and ethically engaged forum for smart, provocative, and exciting scholarship in the field. It provides a forum for different kinds of research, intellectual traditions, and knowledge practices to be placed in conversation, where we extend our understandings across disciplinary and epistemological boundaries and learn more about the important work going on in scores of different fields and regions.


We encourage all faculty and instructors to download NAIS articles directly from your library’s online portal, and to ask your students to do the same, rather than providing PDF files. Each “click” counts, so it helps the NAIS journal when you download from JSTOR, Project Muse and the like.


Co-Editors: Jean M. O’Brien (White Earth Ojibwe) University of Minnesota and Robert Warrior (Osage) University of Kansas


Editorial Managers: Sasha Suarez (White Earth Ojibwe) University of Minnesota and Sierra Watt (Pechanga Band of Luiseno) University of Kansas



Native American and Indigenous Studies

Editorial Board



Jennifer Adese (term ends 2018)


Carleton University


Lourdes Alberto (term ends 2021)


University of Utah


Chris Andersen (term ends 2019)


University of Alberta


Eric Cheyfitz (term ends 2020)

Cornell University


Alejandra Dubcovsky (term ends 2021)

University of California, Riverside


Alyosha Goldstein (term ends 2019)

University of New Mexico


Joanna Hearne (term ends 2021)

University of Missouri


Brendan Hokowhitu (term ends 2020)


University of Waikato


Brian Klopotek (term ends 2019)


University of Oregon


Beth Leonard (term ends 2018)

(Deg Xit’an Athabascan)

University of Alaska, Fairbanks


Tsianina Lomawaima (term ends 2018)


Arizona State University


Aileen Moreton-Robinson (term ends 2020)


Queensland University of Technology


Christopher Pexa (term ends 2020)

(Spirit Lake Dakota)

University of Minnesota


Keith Richotte (term ends 2021)

(Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians)

University of North Carolina — Chapel Hill


Daniel Rivers (term ends 2021)

(Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma)

Ohio State University


Dylan Robinson (term ends 2018)


Queens University


David Delgado Shorter (term ends 2020)



Noenoe Silva (term ends 2019)

(Kanaka Maoli)

University of Hawaiʻi, Mānoa


Rose Stremlau (term ends 2019)

University of North Carolina, Pembroke


Kiara Vigil (term ends 2018)

(Dakota and Apache heritage)

Amherst College