NAISA Council

NAISA is governed by a constitution and by-laws. The first election of association officers took place in the spring of 2009. Current officers and Councilors are listed below, followed by former officers and Councilors. The Council meets twice a year face-to-face and meets electronically on a monthly basis the other ten months of the year.



President: Susan M. Hill (Haudenosaunee), University of Toronto, email Susan Hill

Past-President: Shannon Speed (Chickasaw), University of California, Los Angeles, email Shannon Speed

President-Elect: Brandon Hokowhitu (Māori, Ngāti Pūkenga), University of Waikato, email Brandon Hokowhitu



Marisa Elena Duarte (Pascua Yaqui)

Arizona State University

email Marisa Duarte



K. Tsianina Lomawaima (Muscogee Creek Nation, unenrolled)

Arizona State University

email K. Tsianina Lomawaima


Council Members
Terms expire 2021

Beth Piatote (Nez Perce)

University of California, Berkeley

email Beth Piatote


Jill Doerfler (White Earth Anishinaabe)

University of Minnesota Duluth

email Jill Doerfler


Terms expire 2022

Leonie Pihama (Te Ātiawa, Waikato Tainui, Ngā Māhanga a Tairi)

University of Waikato

email Leonie Pihama


Luis E. Cárcamo-Huechante (Mapuche)

Comunidad de Historia Mapuche and the University of Texas, Austin

email Luis Cárcamo-Huechante


Terms expire 2023

Kiara Vigil (Dakota, Apache heritage)

Amherst College

email Kiara Vigil


Astri Dankertsen (Sámi)

Nord University

email Astri Dankertsen



Aroha Harris, President, 2018-2019

Brenda Child, President, 2017-2018

Noelani Goodyear-Ka’ōpua, Secretary, 2017-2019

Jace Weaver, President, 2016-2018

Cedric Woods, Treasurer, 2016-2018

Mark Rifkin, President, 2014-2015

David Chang, Secretary, 2012-2016

Chadwick Allen, President, 2013-2014

Tsianina Lomawaima, President, 2012-2013

Kathryn Shanley, President, 2011-2012

Jean O’Brien, President, 2010-2011

Robert Warrior, President, 2009-2010

Maggie Walter, Secretary, 2009-2012

Brendan Hokowhitu, Treasurer, 2009-2012

Bruce Duthu, Treasurer, 2012-2015



Troy Storfjell (Sámi), 2017-2020

Chris “Caskey” Russell (Tlingit), 2017-2020

Christine “Tina” Taitano Delisle, 2016-2019

Jean Dennison, 2016-2019

Shannon Speed, 2015-2018

Renae Watchman, 2015-2018

Susan Hill, 2014-2017

Jolan Hsieh, 2014-2017

Alyssa Mt. Pleasant, 2013-2016

Leilani Basham, 2013-2016

Aileen Moreton Robinson, 2012-2015

LeAnne Howe, 2012-2015

Daniel Heath Justice, 2011-2014

Jose Antonio Lucero, 2011-2014

Kimberly Tallbear, 2010-2013

Vince Diaz, 2010-2013

Kehaulani Kauanui, 2009-2012

Noenoe Silva, 2009-2012

Alice TePunga Somerville, 2009-2011

Chris Anderson, 2009-2011

Lisa Brooks, 2009-2010

Rob Innes, 2009-2010